Latest updates:

WLS 2016 was a great success. Thanks to everyone who attended, the speakers, the volunteers, the Singapore Pools team and I-Promo for contributing to its success. All the content presented at the convention is being uploaded to the WLA website, so please visit regularly for updated information. WLS 2016 is over, WLS 2018 awaits you in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Call For Submission


The WLA Advertising Awards are a traditional component of the WLA Convention, designed to acknowledge and promote best practice in lottery industry advertising.

The Advertising Awards provide an ideal platform for you to gain industry exposure for the promotional material produced by your lottery in the past two years.

This year’s winners will be selected by delegates present at the Advertising Awards Session in Singapore, on Wednesday, 9 November, 2016. A Grand Global Advertising Award, selected as the best advertisement, will be presented during the Closing Dinner of WLS 2016.



CATEGORY 1 - Best Product Advertising broadcast on TV/cinema (numbers games, sports betting and instant games)
CATEGORY 2 - Best New Media Advertising (ads created for distribution via Internet, social media, e-mail, mobile phones etc.)
CATEGORY 3 - Best Corporate Advertising  (TV/cinema ads that profile the organization)



All WLA member lotteries are eligible to enter the Advertising Awards (with the exception of the host lottery, Singapore Pools).

Advertisements and promotions released to market between July 2014 and August 2016 are eligible for participation in this year’s Awards Competition.

Print advertisements and promotions are not eligible for submission.

There is no limit on the number of entries a WLA member lottery can submit in any one category or for the awards as a whole.



STEP 1: Send an e-mail request to the WLS Awards Committee at to receive a user name and a password to access the dedicated Awards Entry Website:

STEP 2: Visit the Awards Entry Website by clicking the link (If the link doesn’t work, please copy and paste the following link to your browser Enter the user name and password you received, upload the entry files, fill in all the required details for your submission as instructed on the entry website. Once you have completed the submission process you will receive an automated confirmation email of receipt of your entries. 

STEP 3: Make your payment by following instructions in the payment section of the Awards Entry Website:

*NOTE: Registration and payment must have been completed to allow judging of entries.



  • Each entry should comprise a high-resolution video or media file as per the instructions on the Awards Entry website and a fully completed form with corresponding details for each entry. All submission descriptions should be submitted in English and total no more than 500 words. Use the form on the Awards Entry Website to nominate the category you would like your submission to be entered into; the objectives and target audience of the campaign the advertisement was part of; and the outcomes achieved. The Awards Entry Website may be accessed at:
  • All entries must be submitted via the Awards Entry Website by Thursday, 15 September, 2016.

Each advertisement submitted should have a maximum length of 90 seconds. Non-English entries must be submitted as a dubbed English version or have English subtitles.  

All entry files should be labeled as indicated here under:



LOTTERY (acronyms): FDJ (for Française des jeux)
AWARD CATEGORY: Best product advertising
ENTRY TITLE: Jingle Bell Bucks
Sample: FDJ_WLA_BPA_Jingle Bell_Bucks



Advertisements will be judged against the following criteria:

  • Impact / effectiveness of the game / product
  • Information content (relevance to target audience)
  • Design / aesthetic appeal
  • Creativity
  • Ability to gain and maintain the customer's attention (cut-through)
  • Ability to change customer perception
  • Any other criteria the judging panel deems appropriate



Singapore Pools as the host lottery has recruited a panel of industry experts to assess submissions against the above criteria. Panel members have an excellent awareness of global advertising / marketing trends and the ability to maintain a global perspective during the judging process.



For 2016, the WLA has introduced some innovations designed to make the selection of finalists more inclusive and to provide greater incentives for participation.

  • Member lotteries will each have a vote in the selection of finalists
  • 5 finalists in each category screened at WLS2016 (vs 3 in previous years)
  • All finalists will receive a certificate of recognition

A mix of votes from WLA member lotteries and the judging panel will determine the finalists to be presented to delegates at the Advertising Awards Session. The weighting of votes will be 30% for member lotteries vs 70% for the judging panel. 5 finalists in each category will be drawn up.

The 15 finalists will be screened at the Interactive Advertising Awards Session on Wednesday, 9 November, 2016, from 10:00-11:00 a.m. We encourage the WLA Advertising Awards contestants and all delegates to attend the Interactive Advertising Awards Session to vote for their favorite advertisement in each category.

From each category, the delegates will vote for their favorite and the 3 winners will be presented a trophy in the last part of the same session. The remaining finalists will each receive a certificate of recognition as finalists.

From the 3 winning advertisements, the panel will select the WLA Grand Global Advertising Award winner, which will be announced at the Closing Dinner.

The decision of the judges will be final and binding and appeals will not be entered into. Please note that submissions will not be returned following judging.



Submissions must be uploaded to the submission address by close of business (Central European Time) on Thursday, 15 September, 2016.



An entry fee of SGD 700 per submission is payable by electronic bank transfer. Full payment details are provided below.

Entry fees must be received by close of business on Thursday, 15 September, 2016 (Central European Time).

Please note that there is no entry fee for the Grand Global Advertising Award as winners from the three award categories will automatically be entered into the pool for this award. 



Bank transfers should be in Singapore Dollars SGD (not your own currency) made payable to:


Name & Address
of Bank

Account number
Swift code
Clearing number

World Lottery Association, 4002 Basel,

Crédit Suisse, 4051 Basel,
CH59 0483 5024 1502 8200 8
WLS2016 Ad Awards + your company name



Payments should be made with the instruction 'fees and charges to be paid by sender'.



Should you not be able to make a bank transfer, please send a mail stating reasons to



The winning entry in each category as well as the winner of the Grand Global Advertising Award will be presented with a trophy. The trophies for the individual category winners will be presented following the voting during the Advertising Awards Session on Wednesday, 9 November. The Grand Global Advertising Award trophy will be presented the same evening at the WLS 2016 Closing Dinner. 



Please direct any questions you have regarding the awards to the WLS 2016 Awards Committee via email at Please reference the Advertising Awards in the subject line.

Your participation in the WLA 2016 Advertising Awards is appreciated. We look forward to seeing your submission/s and wish you the very best of luck with your entry.



  Jean-Luc Moner-Banet
WLA President
  Lynne Roiter
WLA Secretary General

Platinum contributors

Gold contributors